Fredericksburg is the seat of Gillespie County, in the U.S. state of Texas. Fredericksburg City was founded in the year 1846 and named after Prince Frederick of Prussia. Earlier, German residents often referred to Fredericksburg as Fritztown, a nickname that is still used in some businesses. The town is also notable as the home of Texas German, a dialect spoken by the first generations of German settlers who initially refused to learn English.

Fredericksburg shares many cultural characteristics with New Braunfels, which had been established by Prince Carl of Solms-Braunfels the previous year. On October 14, 1970, the Fredericksburg Historic District was added to the National Register of Historic Places in Texas.

Source: YouTube / Courtesy: texasfarmbureau


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here